Ethics – Conclusion

That’s it for now. I hope you have found it useful, stimulating, thought-provoking.

I’m not saying I got it right, but it’s basically the dilemmas I faced and what I did back then, and this was 20 years ago – pre-PCC, just, and pre-mobile phones, Internet and a lot of things that would have made communication from the scene easier and faster.

If you have found this interesting, please spread the word and let others know about it and have their say here, or on Twitter, where I’ve used the hashtag #banksyethics.

This is the sort of practical experience of real-life journalism that I bring to all my training and my sessions regularly feature group discussion of real legal and ethical dilemmas like this that I and other journalists have faced.

You can find details of the courses I offer on the menu above.

I’ll be back later with a few reflections on what I might do differently if I were sent out on this story today.

3 thoughts on “Ethics – Conclusion

  1. Really loved this, and found it very thought-provoking. I think you handled it incredibly well.
    I would have really struggled with this situation, particularly telling the woman her son might be dead before she had heard it from the Foreign Office. Being a fragile little flower, I’d probably not have been able to bring myself to speak to her until she had been told officially. But reading what you’ve said, I’m not sure that’s right – I think you’ve hit the nail on the head when you said it’s your job to tell this compelling story, not do the Foreign Office’s job for them. By giving the family the opportunity to pay a tribute to the person their son was, you will have massively helped them.
    I hope all the idiots who constantly put journalists down and lambast us as a bunch of immoral hacks read this and think twice. It’s clear from this and the responses on Twitter how difficult most journalists would find this situation. I hate the inference that there’s somehow something wrong with wanting to tell a story or report news. We report things because they deserve to be told, or need to be told, or because it helps someone to tell them; why do people feel there needs to be a salacious element to that? If we expose wrongdoing it is the wrongdoers, not us, who deserve criticism. No-one enjoys reporting on unpleasant stories but it’s our job to tell them for the greater good.

  2. I think Journalists are as much reviled as Banks these days and justifiably so.In this case, I would have told the Parents that I was a Reporter straight away and left the decision up to them .

Leave a Reply

